Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
PSMF: Core ITSM Practice Areas


This category covers the key core process / practice areas (elements) that make up ITSM as an overall function.

Accreditation purpose

Demonstrate your dedication to your craft by:

  • undertaking study of, and where appropriate, obtained certification in framework and/or implemented industry good practice around it. Relevant frameworks include SDI, PRINCE2, MSP, ITIL, COBIT
  • demonstrating competence through practical examples associated with your work.

Method of valuation

Candidate number for reference against the appropriate certifier’s successful candidate register. Each framework has its own levels of certification that would require mapping to the PSMF levels.

Anecdotal evidence of application of the competences in your role, supported by line manager assertion.


Learning and development guides

Professional Service Management Framework

PSMF is a practical competency model that defines a professional identity for the service management industry and all those that work within it. Whether you’re an individual service management practitioner or an enterprise organisation, PSMF is a way to improve individual and team service management capabilities and to recognise the full value of the service management contribution.LEARN MORE

Ground Floor South
Burford House
Berks RG12 7WW

Tel: 0118 918 6500

Fax: 0118 969 9749

Contact Us